the hold steady - Thrashing thru the passion - Frenchkiss


TRY: #1, #3, #6, #8

Facebook / WebsiteTwitter

Formed in 2003, The Hold Steady have released six albums, numerous singles and played over 1,000 shows during the past 16 years. The Brooklyn-based band, by way of the Midwest, has performed in all 50 states in the USA, and throughout Canada, the UK, Europe and Australia.

The Hold Steady began releasing two-song singles in November 2017 ahead of the sold-out weekend shows they’ve been performing in select cities each year. The band has released five new singles (nine songs total) thru March 2019.

August 16, 2019 will be the release of the band’s seventh album, Thrashing Thru The Passion, a collection of five new songs and five digitally released singles released between November 2017 and March 2019.  The album was recorded at The Isokon in Woodstock, NY with producer Josh Kaufman and engineer D. James Goodwin. Additional performers include Stuart Bogie, Dave Nelson, Jordan McLean and Michael Leonhart on horns and Annie Nero on backup vocals.

"I’ve been saying for a few years now - since Franz came back- that this six piece lineup of The Hold Steady is the best band we’ve ever been,” says Finn. “The new songs recorded by this version of the band are super exciting to us. It’s been a very fun and creative period for The Hold Steady.”

The band will launch ‘"Constructive Summer 2019" in August + September - four weekends of US shows in Seattle, Chicago, Nashville and Boston. In December the band will play Brooklyn, NY for the 4th installment of "Massive Nights," a four-show run at Brooklyn Bowl and in March 2020 will play the 3rd "The Weekender" in London at The Electric Ballroom.

August 15-17 - Seattle, WA @ Crocodile

August 22-24 - Chicago, IL @ Thalia Hall and Empty Bottle

September 5-7 - Nashville, TN @ Basement East

September 12-15 - Cambridge, MA @ Sinclair

December 4-7 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Bowl

The Hold Steady is: Bobby Drake (drums), Craig Finn (vocals, guitar), Tad Kubler (guitar, vocals), Franz Nicolay (keyboards, vocals), Galen Polivka (bass), and Steve Selvidge (guitar, vocals).